Skype phishing from skype@security.co.uk
This morning, when I checked my gmajl account, I found the below email from skype@security.co.uk. It notified me to update my Skype account by following the embeded link, otherwise my account might be suspended temporarily:
Dear valued skype� member:
It has come to our attention that your skype� account informations needs to be
updated as part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to
reduce the instance of fraud on our website. If you could please take 5-10 minutes
out of your online experience and update your personal records you will not run into
any future problems with the online service.However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension.
Please update your records on or before May 15, 2007.you are requested to update your account informations at the following link.
https://secure.skype.com/login_update_done=1115487
*Important*
We have asked few additional information which is going to be the part of secure login process. These additional information will be asked during your future login security so, please provide all these info completely and correctly otherwise due to security reasons we may have to close your account temporarily.
Note the embeded link. What it shows is a link to skype.com, but actually it’s a link to:
http://interflightstudio.com/store/images/screenname/index-ie_files
/okhc3QwlKBNmvFLueSMJ-jrk7rKBryuYQVUSNUiV33wyG-sD5ar6ik
WPdvonrkiYMq1Cdfh2TO1cNTi&shva/login.html
That’s a typical phishing cheating. Please be noted.
[tags]Skype,Phishing,Security[/tags]

I have to say, that I could not agree with you in 100%, but it’s just my IMHO, which could be wrong.
p.s. You have an awesome template . Where did you find it?
Skype users need to make call or send SMS every 180 days to keep their credit/account. Got it.
I received a notification message from Skype.com that my credit will expire at Nov.11. Before that date, I need to do blahblah. This time I checked the URL/URI carefully. It’s true.
你好 username -,
您的Skype信用点数将在3后过期。 请立即采取行动以保留自己的信用点数! 这是最后一次提醒。
请参阅下文了解信用点数的使用方法。
您的帐户细节:
Skype用户名: richard1144
余额: EUR xxxx
到期日: 2007-11-09
=== 怎样做才能保留住您的信用点数? ===
很简单,只要按下列方法使用您的信用点数即可。 每次使用信用点数时,您的帐户均会延期180天。
- 立即给固定电话或手机打一个电话。
- 发送手机短信。
- 购买SkypeIn号码或Skype Voicemail,这样即使脱机,您仍然能够接听电话。
Again I received this Phishing email from security@skype.co.uk. The content is the below:
Dear valued skype member:
It has come to our attention that your skype account informations needs to be
updated as part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to
reduce the instance of fraud on our website. If you could please take 5-10 minutes
out of your online experience and update your personal records you will not run into
any future problems with the online service.
However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension.
Please update your records on or before september 25, 2007.
you are requested to update your account informations at the following link
Click Here To update your account informations
Where “Here” actually refer to http://skype-accounts.freehostia.com/
This time the page has a little difference, where the real link was directed to : http://skype.udapte.googlepages.com/
Dear valued skype® member:
It has come to our attention that your skype® account informations needs to be
updated as part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to
reduce the instance of fraud on our website. If you could please take 5-10 minutes
out of your online experience and update your personal records you will not run into
any future problems with the online service.
However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension.
Please update your records on or before Jun 22, 2007.
you are requested to update your account informations at the following link.
https://secure.skype.com/login_update_done=1115487
*Important*
We have asked few additional information which is going to be the part of secure login process. These additional information will be asked during your future login security so, please provide all these info completely and correctly otherwise due to security reasons we may have to close your account temporarily.
The below is one message I just received. It’s another phishing note, where you can find the weblink: http://www.skypve.com. Take care !!!
(skype)尊敬的skype用户:
恭喜!您已获得本次活动领奖资格,本公司决定在5月期间与赞助商三星公司联合举办抽奖活动
您将获得由skype送出的惊喜奖金以及奖品.
请登陆 http://www.skypve.com/ 领取您的 (skype) 奖金以及奖品
验证码:【sk58】
客服热线0755-8119-0042
skype系统小组 2007年5月28日
I got sucked in and now my account (skype) is gone..I am not sure how to retrieve it..Any ideas. I have sent emails to skype but no response. Can somebody help me…
Good point.
By accident, I found this interesting paper by honeynet.org:
http://www.honeynet.org/papers/phishing/details/de-detailed.html
The sad part is that the owner of the website is probably not even aware to the fact that is site is part of phishing.
but, if it is the owner behind it , than stopping it shouldnt be a big problem.
Thanks for the update.